Former NZ international umpire believes officials made crucial error in cricket World Cup final
A former New Zealand international umpire believes the officials made a crucial error in the final over of the cricket World Cup final between the Black Caps and England
15 July 2019
The third to last ball of regular overs included an overthrow deflection off a diving Ben Stokes' bat as he completed a second run, with the ball then going for four - seeing it scored as six runs.
© 2019 Newstalk ZB, NZCity
Doug Cowie, who officiated in the 1999 World Cup, says his understanding is that you should only count the runs that have been competed at the point the ball leaves the fielders hand.
It was ruled six in the match, which led to a tie, forcing a super over which also finished with the sides level.
England were then declared winners on boundary count back.
CRICKET WORLD CUP COVERAGE WITH KENNARDS HIRE - THE RIGHT EQUIPMENT FOR EVERY JOB